Jeff Schrag, publisher of The Daily Events in Springfield, was elected president of the Missouri Press Association Friday, Sept. 30, during the 150th annual MPA convention in Branson.

Schrag has been a member of the MPA Board of Directors since 2004, having served as treasurer in 2005 and 2012. He was also president of Ozark Press Association in 2005-2006 and Missouri Newspaper Editors from 2007-2009. He was the Missouri state chairman for the National Newspaper Association from 2008-2010.

Schrag will succeed Dennis Warden, president of Warden Publishing Co. and publisher of the Gasconade County Republican, as MPA president Jan. 1. Warden will continue on the MPA board of directors through 2017 as immediate past president.

Other 2017 MPA officers and directors elected Sept. 30 include: First Vice President, Carol Stark, The Joplin Globe; Second Vice President, James White, Benton County Enterprise, Warsaw; Secretary, Jane Haslag, Jefferson City News Tribune; Treasurer, Mary Wilson, Jackson County Advocate, Grandview.

Directors for three-year terms: Liz Irwin, Missouri Lawyers Media, St. Louis; Michael Jensen, Sikeston Standard-Democrat; and Trevor Vernon, Eldon Advertiser.

Tianna Brooks, Mountain View Standard News, was elected as the National Newspaper Association state chair.

Continuing on the MPA Board in 2017 will be directors Dennis Ellsworth, St. Joseph News-Press; Donna Bischoff, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Paul Berry, Springfield News-Leader; Jacob Brower, Monett Times/Cassville Democrat; and Steve Tinnen, Clinton County Leader, Plattsburg.

Retiring from the MPA Board in December 2016 are Jack Miles, Warrensburg Daily Star-Journal; and Jim Robertson, Columbia Daily Tribune.

Looking for the Training Videos?

They are located in the navigation menu under Training Lab > Training Videos.